top of page

Our Maiden Voyage


Our Airstream at the Williamsburg KOA

Finally, after a few of months of impatiently waiting, we were able to take Alice out for her maiden voyage. For our first destination, we chose to stay close to home, and visit the Williamsburg KOA during President's Day weekend. We took our time hitching and loading up the Airstream, hoping not to forget anything important. Thankfully the ride up was fairly uneventful, and both the truck and Airstream behaved well. Once we arrived, we made short work of unhitching and settling in! For the remainder of the evening we practically had the place to ourselves. I had mixed feelings about being alone in that sea of gravel, but we didn't have to worry about that for long as more people trickled in. Despite an unseasonably warm day, the evening cooled down quickly, and the heat inside, thankfully, worked better than we could have hoped for. But alas, our first night's sleep in the Airstream did not go as I had hoped. Between the tremendous amount of snoring that would put any chainsaw to shame, and the sorely overlooked Tempurpedic-wannabe mattress bottoming out on us...

(I'm looking at you Airstream!)

...dearest and I did not get much sleep. I vowed that at first light, we would be investing in some much needed ear plugs, and something to make the craptastic mattress less...crappy. We did find both, but unfortunately, I'm not happy with the 3" memory-foam pad that makes me feel like I'm sinking in quicksand. Back to the drawing board.

After our supply run, we returned to vacation-mode. Dearest husband and daughter went scavenging for downed wood and sticks for a fire, and I did what I do best... people watch! Most of the families were very average. I watched one little boy try and find sticks and wood for their fire later that night. There was a volleyball team of giggly girls that bounced for hours on the KOA Bounce Pillow. There was a group of adults sitting around in their lawn chairs enjoying their frosty adult beverages and enjoying a few hearty laughs. I watched with envy as one man opened a secret compartment outside of his ginormous 5th wheel revealing a well stocked mini fridge, microwave, stove and sink. And finally, I silently judged and swore at the couple across the road from us who allowed their tiny yappy dogs to roam free from their leashes and drop strategically placed mini-landmines precariously next to our site. Luckily I avoided any missteps during our trip.

Sadly our trip came to a close too soon. I even tried to convince dearest husband that we should stay one more, awesomely unplanned night so we could soak up the beautiful weather Mother Nature handed us (by mistake, I'm sure). Reluctantly, we decided it was best to head home as planned. On day 3 we tidied our little vacation home, hitched up, and headed back to reality.

We can't wait to plan the next adventure, but for now... I've returned to my regularly schedule status: impatiently waiting.

Here are a few pictures from our Maiden Voyage:

Thanks for reading, and happy wandering!

Airstream mascots

Featured
Recent
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page